Polar Bear

Polar Bear is the sound made by drummer Seb Rochford, tenor and baritone saxophonists Pete Wareham and Mark Lockheart, double bassist Tom Herbert and Leafcutter John on mandolin and electronics.

In 2004 Polar Bear were nominated for ‘Best Band’ at the BBC Jazz Awards, while Rochford was nominated for the ‘Rising Star’ award. In the same year they released their first album Dim Lit. Their second record Held on the Tips of Fingers, a mix of free jazz, dance and electronica, was a crossover hit which earned Polar Bear a nomination for 2005’s Mercury Music Prize.

The album was also nominated for a BBC Jazz Award in 2006 and was selected as one of the “100 Jazz Albums That Shook The World” by Jazzwise magazine.

They released their self-titled third album, Polar Bear, in July 2008 with Tin Angel Records. Their fourth album, Peepers, was released in March 2010.

Take a glimpse of their searing live set.

Polar Bear official website
MySpace profile
The Leaf Label page